Bolongaro Trevor Launch

I recently had the opportunity to attend a fashion launch for the first time from Bolongaro Trevor, it was a great surprise when I got this invite and so I thought I should take up the opportunity that fate had decided to deal to me. Bolongaro Trevor is a store that I was already familiar with the fashion store prior to this as I’ve always admired its styling and often wandered past to be inspired by its window displays that would integrate taxidermy and its clothing together.

So, despite being a little lurgied, I was determined to make my way to the launch and I’m really pleased that I did. I’ve been to a few art events such as RCA Secret, normally on the opposite side of the press line but this was a new experience for me……..I’m new to all the etiquette involved with these kind of functions but I would like to take part in more as they remind me of when I used to review plays and gigs. I was a little unfashionably early but welcomed straight away however by the team there as they were getting ready and all were happy to answer any questions I had.

The Broadwick Street store has undergone quite a makeover which reflects the styling that was already given focus in its window displays and it is a great backdrop to its clothing, with wood panels adorned in vintage Victorian style newspaper prints, eccentric taxidermy inc caged ducklings wearing paper hats and skulls of all varieties.

Bolongaro Trevor is the next project from Stuart Trevor and Kait Bolongaro,  the founders and creative inspiration behind ‘All Saints’. They sold ‘All Saints’ in 2005 and from there, two years later they launched Bolongaro Trevor which was a natural progression for them.

Influences I would say are punk, Vivienne Westwood, militaria and a little wink to quirkier aspects of bygone eras. Stuart designs the menswear aspect of the label with Kait creating the women’s pieces. They give two design styles which unite under one DNA which gives them diversity and yet an identifiable themeing to their final pieces. The brand is much loved by the great and good of the arts including Daisy Lowe, Agnes Deyne, Kate Moss, Gwen Stefani, The Who, Kasabian and The Kings of Leon.

Bolongaro Trevor are based in a Victorian Warehouse in Hoxton and still produce a limited and exclusive range, approximately up to 1000 of each design. Each piece has great detailing from things such as detailed beading in items such as the Dolores Sequin Cape (below), to the 3/4 button fastenings on their military style trousers. Prints are also quite a feature of their work, with character print tshirts such as Mr Harry Tee, union jacks and skull designs being a repeated motive which are also seen in many of their accessories such a scarves. Their work is also beautifully tailored with punk influenced tartan dresses and skirts that nod toward Westwood but still have a uniqueness and were one of my favourite pieces on the night. The shaping of these, even on a slightly curvier figure such as my own would be incredibly flattering and could provide a statement piece for any wardrobe as well as a talking point for a special event or daytime wear . They can be both a bold statement if accessorised appropiately with dramatic, chunky jewellery as well as being an confident statement for day wear. I would love to have a piece myself, so I shall start saving my pennies as their clothing is quite aspiring and inspiring for me as a creative person. If I had a wishlist from the pieces I saw that night, I have to be honest, it would be quite long.

They can be found in the best department stores across UK, Europe and the United States. They also have six stores, 4 in London, one in Leeds and another about to open in Birmingham, plus 4 more planned shortly.

Leave a Reply

